Electric Power University is a public university with a multi-level and multi-discipline system, operating under the management of Ministry of Industry and Trade (MoIT) and its main function is to provide high quality manpower at different training levels for the power sector and to satisfy society’s needs. Apart from retraining and advanced training for technical and management staff members of the power sector, the university also develops and promotes scientific research, international cooperation, transfer and deployment of new technology applications.

Besides, EPU is one of the the five universities authorized by the Government and Ministry of Education and Training (MoET) to take responsibility for nuclear power training. The university also provides short-term and part-time training courses for EVN subsidiaries.

EPU has provided training in 7 majors at graduate level, 27 majors at undergraduate level, 19 majors at college level and 5 majors in vocational training courses. At present, the total number of students is approximately 15,000.